Follow us on Social & Subscribe to our newsletter to learn more about EDCC!

Announcing 2021 ‘Economic Development Achievement Award’ – Adam Krueger, City of Thornton

Top people, places and projects in economic development honored at annual awards dinner and ceremony.

STEAMBOAT SPRINGS, COLORADO (Oct. 21, 2021) – Adam Krueger, CEcD, Deputy Director for the City of Thornton Economic Development, was awarded the highest honor of ‘Economic Development Achievement’ award for 2021. The honor was presented at EDCC’s annual EDIE Awards Ceremony held in conjunction with its annual Drive|Lead|Succeed Conference held in Steamboat Springs, Colorado last week.

“I am very honored to receive this award, it was such an amazing surprise. I feel very fortunate to work in Economic Development in Colorado with so many talented and amazing peers willing to share lessons learned and discuss challenges and issues we all face,” said Adam Kreuger, Deputy Director, City of Thornton Economic Development. “I would like to thank Kim Woodworth, Bobbi Vanden Heuvel, and the entire EDCC board for allowing me to serve on such an important organization. I’d also like to thank Laura Lewis Marchino for the nomination. As chair, she has done an outstanding job leading EDCC through such interesting times.”

Since 1989, EDCC has recognized nearly 200 members, volunteers, communities, companies, and legislators for their outstanding achievement in economic development in the State of Colorado. This year, EDCC celebrated the achievements of 10 individuals, communities, partners, and legislators.

The Economic Development Achievement award is EDCC’s highest honor, celebrating an economic development practitioners outstanding achievements including their commitment to personal professional development, success in the development and retention of businesses within their community, and furthering the development of the Economic Development profession in Colorado. Adam was selected this year for the ‘Economic Development Achievement’ award for his outstanding achievements in the following activities:

  • Adam obtained his certification as a Certified Economic Developer (CEcD) in 2016
  • Adam has led the Primary Employment retention and attraction efforts for the City of Thornton since 2011
    • His role includes attracting developers to build speculative space, augmenting land use and regulatory policy for industrial use, cultivating relationships with local brokers, developers, and site selectors, building a rapport with existing primary employers, and bringing incentive requests before City Council, to name a few.
  • Three million square feet of new speculative space has been developed, resulting in doubling the primary job employment base for the City of Thornton.
  • Adam is the single point of contact for primary employers and consultants as they make location and expansion decisions.
  • Adam is active with the International Economic Development Council (IEDC), Economic Development Council of Colorado (EDCC), where he joined EDCC’s Board of Directors representing Metro Denver and co-chairs the Professional Development Committee
  • Adam also serves on Adams County Regional Economic Partnership Board of Directors as well as the National Association of Office and Industrial Properties program committee.

“This year’s winners represent the forefront of economic development achievement and premier talent that contribute to the overall health and vibrancy of our Colorado’s communities,” said 2021 EDCC Board Chair and Region 9 Economic Development District of Southwest Colorado, Executive Director, Laura Lewis Marchino. “We are so proud to recognize and showcase these individuals and organizations, that improve the quality of life for our citizens.”

Each of these winners, give a glimpse into what our professionals and stakeholders – here in Colorado –  are doing, in keeping Colorado’s economy moving forward. More than ever, the value and importance of sustainable economic development, needs to be shined upon as we power the great economic comeback. EDCC is honored to represent these winners and their important work and achievements.