Awarded for work accomplished in 2015

Large Community of the Year

Adams County Economic Development and Denver Office of Economic Development

1a-for-dia-logoThis year, the first-ever shared ‘Large Community of the Year’ award was presented to both Adams County Economic Development (ACED) and the Denver Office of Economic Development (Denver OED). The organizations were recognized for their unprecedented partnership in the 1A for DIA campaign and assisting in redeveloping the former ASARCO Globe Smelter property, which is located in both jurisdictions.

The 1A for DIA campaign was the product of the unanimous DIA/ACC agreement between Adams County, members of the Airport Coordinating Committee and the City and County of Denver. It successfully secured voter approval for a major amendment to the 1988 Intergovernmental Agreement for Denver International
Airport that will open development opportunities on and around the airport, bringing new jobs and investments to the region.

“This award further validates the culture of collaboration that was necessary to earn overwhelming voter support in both jurisdictions on the effort to pass ballot question 1A. That partnership is an example of how instrumental these relationships are in achieving other impactful projects like ASARCO,” said ACED Executive Board member and Adams County Commissioner Steve O’Dorisio.

To redevelop the ASARCO site, the two governments came together to successfully modify state law regarding urban renewal, adopt a joint urban renewal plan for the site in 2011, and developing a creative package of financing tools including; a HUD Section 108 loan of up to $10,000,000 from Adams County, and a CDBG grant of $750,000 from the City and County of Denver. The result is a 78-acre urban infill site that will add 1 million square feet of Class A industrial space to the local market and approximately 1,000 jobs.

“Strong regional partnerships are a key ingredient to the successful economic development of our greater community,” said Denver Mayor Michael B. Hancock. “We’re honored to receive this award, and excited for the job creation, capital expansion, and smart development that are in progress within the Globeville neighborhood and surrounding Denver International Airport.”

Small Community of the Year

Bent County, CO

Bent County, Colorado was recognized for the Fort Lyon Supportive Residential Community, which provides recovery-oriented transitional housing for homeless fort-lyonindividuals. Housing is combined with counseling, educational, vocational, and employment services for homeless and formerly homeless persons from across Colorado, with an emphasis on serving homeless veterans. This project provided significant economic impact throughout the county and state.

Volunteer of the Year

Lynn Vosler, Front Range Community College

Lynn Vosler, director of Workforce Development at Front Range Community College, has been recognized for her extensive sector partnerships and engagement with private industry. Being a longtime supporter of economic development, Lynn was integral in the success of the sector partnerships – not only in her community, but throughout the Front Range. Vosler has worked closely with private industry and developed “train the trainer” programs for economic development professionals.

Rookie of the Year

Ryan Stevens, La Junta Economic Development

Ryan Stevens, executive director of Economic Development for La Junta Economic Development, was integral in planning efforts for EDCC’s inaugural Regional Economic Development Forum earlier this year, and has been an important voice for rural Colorado. His experience in human capital consulting, hospitality management, and the ability to problem solve were also recognized. Ryan is a strategic problem solver and new EDCC board member willing to take on new (and significant) projects.

Economic Development Achievement Award

Laura Brandt, Metro Denver Economic Development Corporation

Laura Brandt, director of Economic Development for the Metro Denver Economic Development Corporation (Metro Denver EDC), has more than 30 years of experience in economic development, community organization, and marketing. During her tenure with Metro Denver EDC, Brandt has been instrumental in major economic deals such as Panasonic Enterprise Solutions Company, Ardent Mills, Fidelity Investments, and Vestas. Prior to joining the Metro Denver EDC, Brandt worked for City of Lakewood Economic Development. Laura has focused on business recruitment as well as retention and expansion projects. Through her tenure, she has been a strong advocate for the industry, a promoter of professional development, and a true mentor for economic developers around the state.

Chairman’s Award

Danny Tomlinson, Tomlinson & Associates/Lobby Colorado

Danny Tomlinson, owner/founder of Tomlinson & Associates, now Lobby Colorado, has long provided valuable support and education, with strong partnerships in the economic development community. Danny helped bring the Economic Development Council of Colorado from struggling, to success, to significance. All economic development organizations and EDCC members have benefited from his work and insight.

This award recognizes dedication to the profession, advancement of policies, and shaping of future vision.

Our Previous Award Winners

We have an impressive group of winners since 1989.